Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna

By | August 2, 2021


Area: 12,189 km²

224,564 residents (July 2011 estimate, CIA). Ni-Vanuatu 98.5%, others 1.5% (1999 census).

Population density: 18 residents per km²

Population growth:
1.343% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Port Vila (29,356 residents, 1999)

Highest point:
Tabwemasana, 1,877 m

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m

Form of government: Several waves of colonization in the millennia before the Europeans’ voyages of discovery in the 18th century led to a complex linguistic diversity on the archipelago. In the 19th century, the British and French settled on the “New Hebrides”; in 1906 the two colonial powers agreed on a British-French condomium, which administered the islands until independence in 1980. With the independence the name Vanuatu was adopted.

Since then, Vanuatu has been a republic represented in the Commonwealth. The Vanuatu Constitution also dates back to 1980. The Vanuatu Parliament consists of one chamber with 52 members. These are elected every four years.

Administrative division: 6 provinces: Malampa, Penama, Sanma, Shefa, Tafea and Torba

Head of State: President Iolu Abil, since September 2, 2009

Head of Government: Prime Minister Moana Carcasses Kalosil, since March 23, 2013

Language: The official languages ​​in Vanuatu are English, French and Bislama (Pidgin). Overall, more than 100 local languages ​​are spoken in Vanuatu (share 72.6%), Bislama 23.1%, English 1.9%, French 1.4%, other languages ​​0.3%, no information 0.7% (1999 census).

Religion: Presbyterians 31.4%, Anglicans 13.4%, Catholics 13.1%, Seventh-Day Adventists 10.8%, other Christians 13.8%, native beliefs (including Jon Frum Cargo Cult) 5.6%, Others 9.6%, no religion 1%, no information 1.3% (1999 census).

Local time: CET + 10 h
On Vanuatu there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 10 h in winter and + 9 h in summer.

International phone code: + 678

Internet Mains

Voltage: 220/230 V, 50 Hz

Wallis and Futuna

Area: 142 km²

15,398 residents (July 2011 estimate, CIA). Polynesians.

Population density: 108 residents per km²

Population growth:
0.357% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Mata-Utu on the island of Uvea (1,191 residents, 2003 census)

Highest point:
Mont Singavi on the island of Futuna, 765 m

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m.

Form of government: As a country located in Oceania defined by, the Futuna archipelago was discovered by the Dutch in 1616, Wallis by the British in 1767. However, it was France that declared the islands a protectorate in 1842 and occupied them in 1888. In 1959, the residents of Wallis and Futuna voted for incorporation into the French Republic. In 1961 the islands became a French overseas territory (territoire d’outre-mer ). In 2003 this status was changed to collectivité d’outre-mer.

Wallis and Futuna has a deputy and a senator in the two houses of the French parliament.

Administrative division: 3 traditional kingdoms (Uvea, Sigave and Alo)

Head of State: French President Francois Hollande, since May 15, 2012, represented in Wallis and Futuna by the Supreme Administrator Michel Jeanjean (since June 2010)

President of the Regional Assembly: Sosefo Suve, since November 28, 2012

Language: The official language in Wallis and Futuna is French. Proportion of different languages: Wallisian 58.9%, Futunian 30.1%, French 10.8%, other 0.2% (2003 census)

Religion: Roman Catholic 99%, Other 1%

Local time: CET + 11 h
On Wallis and Futuna there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 11 h in winter and + 10 h in summer.

International phone code: + 681


Christmas Island

Area: 135 km²

1,402 residents (July 2010 estimate, CIA). Population composition: Chinese 70%, Europeans 20%, Malays 10%.

Population density: 10 residents per km²

Population growth:
0% per year (2010, CIA)

Capital: Flying Fish Cove (approx. 500 residents)

Highest point:
Murray Hill, 361 m

Lowest point: Indian Ocean, 0 m

form of government: Named in 1643 after the day it was discovered, Christmas Island was annexed by the British in 1888 and the Flying Fish Cove settlement was established. Japan temporarily occupied the island during World War II. Great Britain transferred sovereignty over Christmas Island to Australia in 1957. Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands have been part of the Australian territories in the Indian Ocean since 1995. Local affairs are handled by the Shire Council of Christmas Island(one chamber, 9 seats; members are elected every 4 years by the population). Christmas Island is represented in both the Australian House of Representatives and the Australian Senate.

Head of State: Queen Elizabeth II (since February 6, 1952), represented by Governor General Quentin Bryce (since September 5, 2008). Christmas Island Administrator: Brian Lacy (since October 5, 2009).

Shire President: Gordon Thompson

Language: The official language on Christmas Island is English. Malay and the Chinese language Hokkien are also spoken.

Religion: Buddhists 36%, Muslims 25%, Christians 18%, Others 21% (1997)

Local time: CET + 6 h
On Christmas Island there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 6 h in winter and + 5 h in summer.

International dialing code: + 61


Christmas Island