Top Physics Schools in Hawaii

By | April 29, 2018

On, you can learn what the top-ranked physics colleges and universities are in Hawaii, and compare the best physics colleges, and get the latest ranking of best schools for physics in Hawaii. From the following table, please see full list of top graduate schools of physics in Hawaii including school information and contact profile.

  • According to foodezine, the nickname of Hawaii is The Aloha State.

Top Physics Schools in Hawaii

1 University of Hawaii–Manoa, Department of Physics
Address: 2505 Correa Road, Honolulu, HI 96822
Phone: (808) 956-7087

Hawaii state nature

The state of Hawaii is located in the central part of the Pacific Ocean on the Hawaiian Islands, more than three and a half thousand kilometers away from North America. The area of ​​Hawaii is 28,311 km 2 (forty-third place among the states of the USA).

Hawaii is one of two (along with Alaska) exclaves of the United States of America that do not share a common border with the continental United States. In addition, it is the southernmost of all the states and the only one entirely located on the islands.

Hawaii belongs to the US West region, namely the US Pacific states.

The state of Hawaii is part of the US Hawaiian-Aleutian Time Zone.

The Hawaiian Islands are an archipelago of many islands, atolls and rocks stretching over 2,400 km from the island of Hawaii in the south to the Kur Atoll in the north. The archipelago is usually divided into southeastern (also known as Windward or “main”) and northwestern (or Leeward) islands.

The Windward Islands are Hawaii (which gave its name to the entire archipelago, it is also often referred to as the Big Island), Maui, Kahoolawe, Lanai, Molokai, Oahu, Kauai, and Niihau. The largest of the Leeward Islands are Nihoa, Necker, French Frigate Shoals, Gardner, Laysan, Lisyansky Island, Pearl and Hermes, Midway (which is not part of the state of Hawaii, having the status of a “unorganized territory” of the United States) and the atoll Kure. In addition, there are more than one hundred and thirty small islands in the Hawaiian archipelago.

The largest islands of the Hawaiian archipelago
Name Area, km 2 highest point,
meters above sea level
Nickname of the island
Hawaii 10 432 4 205 Big Island
Maui 1 883 3055 Island of the valleys
Oahu 1 545 1 220 Assembly Island
Kauai 1430 1 598 garden island
Molokai 673 1512 friendly island
Lanai 363 1026 pineapple island
Niihau 180 381 forbidden island
Kahoolawe 115 452 target island

The Hawaiian Islands are of volcanic origin, while the “hot spot” of the earth’s crust that formed them over millions of years gradually moved from the northwest (respectively, the Leeward Islands are much more destroyed by erosion) to the southeast (up to the “youngest” island of Hawaii).

The “Big Island” of the Hawaiian archipelago was formed as a result of the eruptions of five volcanoes, three of which are active today. The most active of them, Kilauea, has been erupting continuously since 1983, and nearby Mauna Loa is the largest volcano on Earth in terms of the volume of its rocks. The dormant volcano Mauna Kea is the highest point in the state (4,207 meters above sea level), and taking into account the underwater part, the height of this mountain is about 10,200 meters, that is, more than the height of Everest. In 1916, the Hawaiian Volcanoes National Park was created on the island, on the territory of which Kilauea and Mauna Loa are located.