Solomon Islands and Samoa

By | August 4, 2021

Solomon Islands

Area: 28,896 km² (land: 27,986 km², water: 910 km²)

571,890 residents (estimate July 2011, CIA). Melanesians 94.5%, Polynesians 3%, Micronesians 1.2%, others 1.1%, no answer 0.2% (1999 census).

Population density: 20 residents per km²

Population growth:
2.22% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Honiara (54,600 residents, estimate 2003)

Highest point:
Mount Popomanaseu, 2,332 m. In some cases, Mount Makarakomburu with 2,447 m is the highest point of the Solomon Islands, but its correct height is 2,310 m.

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m

Form of government: Great Britain established a protectorate over the Solomon Islands in the 1890s, and bitter fighting broke out here during World War II. As a country located in Oceania defined by, the Solomon Islands achieved self-government in 1976 and independence on July 7, 1978. Ethnic violence and widespread crime undermined civil society from 1998 onwards. In June 2003, then Prime Minister Sir Allan Kemakeza turned to Australia to restore law and order. In the months that followed, a multinational force led by Australians came to the islands to maintain peace and disarm ethnic militias. The Solomon Islands Regional Assistance Mission (RAMSI) has proven effective in rebuilding state institutions in the Solomon Islands.
The Solomon Islands have been a parliamentary monarchy since 1978, represented in the Commonwealth. The constitution dates from 1978, the last constitutional amendment was made in 1997. The parliament consists of a chamber with 50 members.

Solomon Islands
Administrative division: 9 provinces:
Central, Choiseul, Guadalcanal, Isabel, Makira, Malaita, Rennell and Bellona, ​​Temotu and Western

1 Capital Territory: Honiara

Head of State
: Queen Elizabeth II (since February 6, 1952), represented by Governor General Frank Kabui (since July 7, 2009)

Head of Government: Prime Minister Danny Philip, since August 25, 2010

Language: English is the official language in the Solomon Islands, but is only spoken by 1 to 2% of the population). Melanesian pidgin is the colloquial language in most of the country. There are a total of around 120 native languages ​​in the Solomon Islands.

Religion: Church of Melanesia 32.8%, Roman Catholic 19%, South Seas Evangelical 17%, Seventh-Day Adventist 11.2%, United Church 10.3%, Christian Fellowship Church 2.4%, other Christians 4, 4%, other 2.4%, no information 0.3%, no religion 0.2% (1999 census)

Local time: CET + 10 h
On the Solomon Islands there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 10 h in winter and + 9 h in summer.

International telephone code: + 677


Mains voltage: 240 V, 50 Hz


Area: 2,831 km² (land: 2,821 km², water: 10 km²)

193,161 residents (estimate July 2011, CIA). Samoans 92.6%, Euronesians (residents with European and Polynesian ancestors) 7%, Europeans 0.4% (2001 census).

Population density: 68 residents per km²

Population growth:
0.6% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Apia (37,708 residents, 2006)

Highest point:
Mauga Silisili (Savaii), 1,857 m

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m

form of government: Samoa has been a parliamentary monarchy since 1962 and is represented in the Commonwealth. The constitution is from the same year. The Legislative Assembly (Fono) has 49 members and elections are held every five years. New Zealand occupied the German protectorate of Western Samoa in 1914 after the outbreak of World War I and later administered the islands as trust territory. On January 1, 1962, Samoa became the first Polynesian nation to regain independence in the 20th century. In 1997 the addition “West” was abolished in the name.

Administrative division: 11 districts: A’ana, Aiga-i-le-Tai, Atua, Fa’asaleleaga, Gaga’emauga, Gagaifomauga, Palauli, Satupa’itea, Tuamasaga, Va’a-o-Fonoti and Vaisigano

Head of State: Tupuola Taisi Tufuga Efi, since June 20, 2007

Head of Government: Prime Minister Sailele Tuila’epa Malielegaoi, since November 23, 1998

Language: The official languages ​​in Samoa are Samoan and English.

Religion: Congregationalists 34.8%, Roman Catholic 19.6%, Methodists 15%, Latter-Day Saints 12.7%, Assembly of God 6.6%, Seventh-Day Adventist 3.5%, Worship Center 1, 3%, other Christians 4.5%, others 1.9%, no information 0.1% (2001 census)

Local time: CET – 12 hrs.
Between the first Sunday in October and the last Sunday in March, Samoa has summer time (CET – 11 hrs).
The time difference to Central Europe is in the European winter – 11 a.m., in the European summer – 1 p.m., in October – 12 p.m.

International phone code: + 685


Mains voltage: 230 V, 50 Hz