School Districts in Cleveland County, North Carolina

By | May 10, 2024

Cleveland County, North Carolina: Overview

Cleveland County is located in the southwestern part of the state of North Carolina, United States. As of the 2020 census, the population of Cleveland County was estimated to be around 98,000 residents. The county seat is Shelby. Cleveland County is known for its rich history, diverse communities, and strong economy. Education is a top priority in Cleveland County, with several school districts serving the educational needs of its residents. Visit Countries and Learners to learn more about this county. Below is an overview of the school districts in Cleveland County, including details about each district, its schools, grades served, locations, and contact information.

  1. Cleveland County Schools

Overview: Cleveland County Schools is the primary school district serving the majority of students in Cleveland County. Committed to academic excellence and student success, Cleveland County Schools provides a comprehensive educational program that prepares students for college, career, and life. With a focus on innovation, equity, and community engagement, the district strives to meet the diverse needs of its students and empower them to reach their full potential.


  • Burns High School: Grades 9-12
  • Crest High School: Grades 9-12
  • Kings Mountain High School: Grades 9-12
  • Shelby High School: Grades 9-12
  • Cleveland Early College High School: Grades 9-12 (Magnet School)
  • Shelby Middle School: Grades 6-8
  • Burns Middle School: Grades 6-8
  • Crest Middle School: Grades 6-8
  • Kings Mountain Middle School: Grades 6-8
  • Boiling Springs Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Burns Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Casar Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • East Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Fallston Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Grover Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Jefferson Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Kings Mountain Intermediate School: Grades 4-5
  • Kings Mountain Intermediate School: Grades 4-5
  • Township Three Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Washington Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • Shelby Intermediate School: Grades 4-5
  • Springmore Elementary School: Grades PK-5
  • West Elementary School: Grades PK-5

Location: Cleveland County Schools serves the entirety of Cleveland County, North Carolina.

Contact Information: Cleveland County Schools 130 S Post Rd Shelby, NC 28152 Phone: (704) 476-8000 Website:

  1. Charter Schools

Overview: In addition to Cleveland County Schools, there are also several charter schools serving students in Cleveland County. These charter schools operate independently of the traditional public school system and offer unique educational programs to meet the needs of their students. While they may have different missions and educational approaches, all charter schools in Cleveland County are committed to academic excellence and student success.


  • Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy: Grades K-12
  • Pinnacle Classical Academy: Grades K-12
  • Turning Point Academy: Grades K-12
  • Cleveland Charter High School: Grades 9-12
  • Tri-City Christian Academy: Grades PK-12
  • Neighbors Grove Christian Academy: Grades PK-12
  • Wendover Preparatory School: Grades PK-12
  • Canopy Leadership Academy: Grades K-8

Location: Charter schools in Cleveland County are located in various communities throughout the county.

Contact Information: Contact information for each charter school can be found on their respective websites or by contacting the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

Conclusion: Cleveland County, North Carolina, is dedicated to providing quality education to its residents through Cleveland County Schools and a variety of charter schools. With a focus on academic excellence, innovation, and community involvement, these school districts prepare students for success in college, career, and life. Through collaboration, dedication, and a commitment to student success, Cleveland County continues to shape the future of its community and empower its residents to achieve their full potential.