Palau Travel Guide

By | August 9, 2021

Palau – traveling in the country

Airplane: Belau Air flies several times a week from Koror to Peleliu and Angaur.

Ship: a large number of private speedboats commute between the individual islands of Palau. Passengers are welcome for a fee. State passenger boats connect the islands of Palau with Koror.

Car / rental car: most rental car agencies are on Koror. However, it is also possible to rent vehicles on the other islands, mostly privately or through the respective accommodation.

Best time to visit Palau

In principle, you can always travel to Palau because of the year-round high air and water temperatures. So that the holiday is not clouded by too much rain, visitors should not travel to the South Sea state between July and October. Because then it rains most often and the amounts of precipitation are highest. Much more suitable for a dream vacation under palm trees are the drier months between December and April.

Palau – key data

Area: 459 km²

20,956 residents (July 2011 estimate, CIA). Palau (Micronesians, some with Malay and Melanesian ancestors) 69.9%, Filipinos 15.3%, Chinese 4.9%, other Asians 2.4%, Whites 1.9%, Carolinians 1.4%, other Micronesians 1.1%, other or no answer 3.2% (2000 census).

Population density: 46 residents per km²

Population growth:
0.363% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Ngerulmud on the island of Babelthuap

Highest point:
Mount Ngerchelchuus, 242 m

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m

Form of government: After three decades in the status of a UN Trust Territory of the Pacific under US administration, the westernmost archipelago of the Carolines decided in 1978 for independence and against membership in the Federated States of Micronesia. A free association treaty with the United States was signed in 1986 but was not ratified until 1993. The treaty entered into 1994 when the islands gained independence. The United States of America remains responsible for Palau’s foreign and defense policy.

Palau is a Presidential Democratic Republic. The Parliament of Palau consists of two chambers: the Assembly of Delegates with 16 members and the Senate with 9 members. In addition, the chief council (16 members) has an advisory function.

Administrative division: 16 administrative states (states): Aimeliik, Airai, Angaur, Hatohobei, Kayangel, Koror, Melekeok, Ngaraard, Ngarchelong, Ngardmau, Ngatpang, Ngchesar, Ngeremlengui, Ngiwal, Peleliu and Sonsorol.

Head of State and Head of Government: President Tommy Remengesau, since January 15, 2013

Language: the official language on all the islands of Palau is English and on most islands Palauian (except Angaur – Angaurian and Japanese, on the Sonsorol Islands – Sonsorol and Tobi – Tobian). Spread of languages: Palau 64.7%, Filipino 13.5%, English 9.4%, Chinese 5.7%, Carolinian 1.5%, Japanese 1.5%, other Asian languages ​​2.3%, other languages 1.5% (2000 census)

Religion: Roman Catholic 41.6%, Protestant 23.3%, Modekngei (local religion) 8.8%, Seventh-Day Adventist 5.3%, Jehovah’s Witnesses 0.9%, Latter-Day Saints 0.6%, Other 3.1%, no answer or no religion 16.4% (2000 census)

Local time: CET + 8 h
On Palau there is no change between summer and winter time.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 8 h in winter and + 7 h in summer.

International phone code: + 680


Mains voltage: 115/230 V, 60 Hz

Palau Travel Guide

Palau geography

As a country located in Oceania defined by, the Republic of Palau is a group of islands in the Pacific Ocean. Palau is one of the westernmost Carolines and is also the westernmost area of Micronesia. The island nation is north of New Guinea and 756 kilometers east of the Philippines. The total area of ​​the 343 islands is 459 square kilometers.

The densely packed archipelago of Palauincludes the islands of Babeldaob, Koror, Peleliu and Angaur, the low coral atolls Kayangel and Ngeruangel as well as the limestone rock islands, which alone have more than 200 islands. Except for the islands of Kayangel and the uninhabited Ngeruangel in the north and Angaur in the south, all of the islands of Palau are located within a single large barrier reef. Only eight of the 343 islands are inhabited.

With an area of ​​almost 400 square kilometers, Babeldaob is by far the largest island in the Republic of Palau. This island is the largest island in Micronesia after Guam. In contrast, the total area of ​​the remaining islands of Palau combined is only 96 square kilometers. The former capital Koror is located on the neighboring island of the same name. Two thirds of the 16,000 residents of Palau also live here. Since 2006, Ngerulmud, located on the main island of Babeldaob, has been the new capital of the island state.

Most of Palau is made up of coral atolls which, with the exception of the larger islands mentioned above, are only a few meters above sea level. The national territory of Palau also includes six other small and isolated islands: the Sonsorol Islands with Sonsorol and Fana as well as Pulo, Anna, Merir, Tobi and Helen. The archipelago, also known as the South-West Islands, extends over 595 square kilometers southwest of the main group of the island state and almost extends as far as Indonesia.