Micronesia Geography and Climate

By | August 25, 2021

Micronesia geography

As a country located in Oceania defined by neovideogames.com, the Federated States of Micronesia are an island nation in the western Pacific Ocean. The island area consists of 607 islands and atolls, which in turn are divided into four main groups: The islands of Kosrae, Pohnpei and Truk, which belong to the East Carolina, and the islands around Yap, which belong to the West Carolina. The national territory of Micronesia is spread over more than 2.6 million square kilometers of ocean, whereas the actual land area of ​​the entire archipelago is only 702 square kilometers. The extension from east to west is 2,899 kilometers. Only about 65 islands of Micronesia are inhabited. The village located on the island of Pohnpei Palikir is theCapital of Micronesia.

The island area of ​​Micronesia consists partly of high, coral reef-lined islands of volcanic origin and partly of flat coral islands. On the island of Pohnpei, which is characterized by high volcanic mountains, there is the highest mountain in Micronesia, the 791 m high Dolohmwar. Pohnpei takes up about half of the total land area of ​​Micronesia, the other half is distributed among the other three main groups of the island area.

Micronesia climate

The atolls of Micronesia are scattered over a huge area in the middle of the Pacific; nevertheless, due to the equatorial location, there is a relatively uniform climate on all islands. The weather is tropical, warm and humid all year round. The high average temperatures are around 25-30 ° C and do not change significantly over the course of the day or year. The humidity is also tropical, which is 80 percent, especially on the islands in central Micronesia, and lasts all year round. But cool trade winds, which come up during the dry season, ensure that the otherwise oppressive humidity is alleviated.

The rainfall entirely correspond to the tropical climate of Micronesia. With an annual 3,000-5,000 mm, they are very high. The highest amounts are reached on the eastern archipelago. The rain gradually decreases towards the west.

Depending on the geographical location, increased rainfall can be observed either from May to October or between November and April. For abundant showers and downpours go down; however, even in the drier months, rainfall is a perfectly common occurrence. As a result, almost everywhere in Micronesia there are only a good 60 days a year on which it does not rain.

The Micronesian island world is often the victim of tropical cyclones. On average, no fewer than 19 typhoons hit, especially in the second half of the year, especially the archipelagos in the north-west of the country.

Best time to visit Micronesia
It is difficult to determine an optimal travel time for a country as large in area as Micronesia. The temperatures are warm and pleasant all year round. But it is best for holidaymakers to avoid the rainy season, which is from May to October on one island and November to April on the other. Because then prolonged, heavy downpours can severely impair the holiday enjoyment. If you travel in the dry season, you are guaranteed to experience blue skies, all-day sunshine, and palm-fringed beaches in warm temperatures.

February is particularly recommended for divers on the island of Yap. Then it is the mating season of the manta rays and hundreds of these impressive giants can be seen in the sea.

Micronesia – key data

Area: 702 km²

106,836 residents (July 2011 estimate, CIA). Chuukese 48.8%, Pohnpeian 24.2%, Kosraean 6.2%, Yapese 5.2%, Yap outer islands 4.5%, Asians 1.8%, Polynesians 1.5%, others 6.4%, unknown 1.4% (2000 census).

Population density: 152 residents per km²

Population growth:
-0.313% per year (2011, CIA)

Capital: Palikir (approx. 5,700 residents)

Largest city: Kolonia (between 7,000 and 10,000 residents)

Highest point:
Dolohmwar (Totolom), 791 m

Lowest point: Pacific Ocean, 0 m Form of

Government: the Federated States of Micronesia are a democratic federal state. The Micronesian Parliament (Congress) consists of 14 members elected by the population. The constitution was adopted by the four states on May 10, 1979, along with a treaty of free association with the United States (which remained responsible for defense and financial assistance). On November 3rd In 1986 this treaty came into force, and in 1991 the Federated States of Micronesia achieved their final independence.

Administrative division: 4 federal states (Chuuk, Kosrae, Pohnpei and Yap)

Head of State and Prime Minister:
President Manny Mori, since May 11, 2007

Language: The official language in Micronesia is English. Other languages ​​are Chuukese, Kosrean, Pohnpeian, Yapese, Ulithian, Woleaian, Nukuoro and Kapingamarangi.

Religion: Roman Catholic 50%, Protestants 47%, Others 3%

Local time: CET + 9 h – Chuuk
and Yap There is no change between summer and winter time on Chuuk and Yap.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 9 h in winter and + 8 h in summer.

CET + 10 h – Kosrae
and Pohnpei There is no change between summer and winter time on Kosrae and Pohnpei.
The time difference to Central Europe is + 10 h in winter and + 9 h in summer.

International phone code: +691

Internet code:.fm

Mains voltage: 110 V, 60 Hz

Micronesia Geography and Climate