Juan Misael Saracho Autonomous University

By | December 15, 2022

Autonomous University “Juan Misael Saracho”. Public Institution of Higher Education of Bolivia. It was founded on June 6, 1946 in Tarija. Check sciencedict for more universities.

Historical review

This university became a benchmark of the regional University, at the Latin American level, within the framework of the World Declaration on Higher Education in the 21st Century.

It was created on June 6, 1946, with two faculties: Law and Social Sciences, and Humanities and Educational Sciences, although the latter had an ephemeral duration.

In November 1946, its first Organic Statute was approved and legal personality was granted by the Ministry of Education, Fine Arts and Indigenous Affairs.

Its gradual insertion into the regional scene has consolidated its institutional personality with the creation of teaching centers, consultation libraries, as well as the provision of services to the community in the cultural and social sphere, through university printing, radio and television..

For several decades, the growth of the University transcended the limits of the capital city, opening institutes and professional careers in Yacuiba, Villamontes and Bermejo, meeting the needs of higher education at the departmental level.


Train competent and comprehensive professionals, who assimilate and transfer scientific-technological progress according to the demands of the environment, with criteria of equity, university social responsibility, cultural diversity and respect for the environment.


The UAJMS is a recognized public and autonomous institution that develops the competent and comprehensive training of the person, leading higher education, according to the demands of the social environment, emphasizing the pedagogical approach focused on learning through face-to-face, distance processes., conventional, virtual, undergraduate and graduate, with research activities, extension and social interaction with similar entities in the country and abroad within a framework of university social responsibility.

Faculties and Careers

Faculty of Sciences in Technology

  • Civil Engineering, Architecture, Computer Engineering, Food Engineering, Chemical Engineering

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Nursing, Biochemistry, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Midwifery Nursing (Program)

Faculty of Agricultural and Forestry Sciences

  • Agronomic Engineering, Forestry Engineering, Environmental Engineering (Entre Ríos)

Faculty of Economic and Financial Sciences

  • Business Administration, Public Accounting, Economics

School of Medicine

  • Medicine

Faculty of Legal and Political Sciences

  • Right

Faculty of Humanities

  • Languages, Psychology

School of Dentistry

  • odontology

Faculty of Integrated Sciences of Villa Montes

  • Veterinary Medicine and Zootechnics, Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering, Petrochemical Engineering

Faculty of Integrated Sciences of the Gran Chaco

  • Agronomic Engineering (El Palmar), Public Accounting (Yacuiba), Computer Engineering (Yacuiba), Commercial Engineering (Yacuiba), Water Resources Engineering (Caraparí), Sanitary and Environmental Engineering (Yacuiba), Administration and Public Management – Program (Yacuiba)

Faculty of Integrated Sciences of Bermejo

  • International Trade, Public Accounting, Systems Engineering, Agricultural Engineering

Juan Misael Saracho Autonomous University