GRE Test Centers in Guyana

By | August 27, 2019

GRE Testing Locations

Decided to take GRE exam? Now it is time to determine where to take the test.  This site provides a full list of GRE testing centers in Guyana, among which, you can choose one that is nearest to you. Good news is that the following GRE test locations in Guyana offer both GRE general test and the GRE subject tests.

GRE Test Centers in Guyana

Paper-delivered Test Centers for General Test

Code Name
10218 Georgetown, Guyana Industrial Training Ctr


GRE Test Dates

There are two types of test format offered by the test maker – ETS: Computer-delivered and Paper-delivered GRE general tests.  For computer based test format, the GRE General Test is offered year-round on a continuous basis, and available for registration on a first-come, first-served basis. For paper based general test,  testing is available three times per year. The following test dates apply:

Test Dates for Paper Based Deadlines for Registration Scores Available
November 09, 2019 October 4, 2019 December 20, 2019
February 1, 2020 December 27, 2019 March 13, 2020

GRE Subject Tests in Guyana

The GRE Subject Tests are available on paper based only. In all GRE test centers throughout the world (both inside and outside United States), the exam is available three times a year. The three test dates are:

  • April
  • September
  • October

GRE Testing Locations in Guyana

More about Guyana

  • ALLCOUNTRYLIST: Overview of major industries in Guyana, including mining, construction, transportation, tourism, and foreign trade.


According to the constitution that came into force on October 6, 1980 (amended several times), Guyana is a presidential republic. The head of state, head of government and commander-in-chief of the armed forces is the president (elected by parliament for 5 years, re-election possible once). He is nominated by the strongest party represented in parliament and appoints the vice-president and the prime minister as well as the other members of the cabinet and the opposition leader in parliament. The legislature lies with the National Assembly (legislative period: 5 years); Of the 65 MPs, 40 are elected nationwide (proportional representation) and 25 in regional constituencies. In 2000 Parliament’s rights were strengthened; it can now force the president and the government to hold new elections by means of a vote of no confidence.

President from May 16, 2015 was D. Granger . In the elections on May 11, 2015, he led the party alliance made up of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and Alliance for Change (AFC) to a majority in parliament and thus ended the 23-year reign of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP / C). On March 2nd, 2020, court-ordered, early parliamentary elections took place, in which the APNU was initially declared the winner. International election observers, however, criticized irregularities in the counting of votes. The government and opposition agreed on a new count, at the end of which, after a long delay, the PPP / C received 51% and a parliamentary majority of 33 seats. In August 2020 Mohamed Irfaan Ali (* 1980, PPP / C)appointed new president. He is the first practicing Muslim to serve as president in South America.

National symbols

The national flag was introduced in 1966. On a green cloth it shows a white-edged yellow triangle (“golden arrow that flies over the green forests”) starting from the leech and reaching with the tip to the flying end. On top of it – also starting from the leech – is an equilateral red, black-edged triangle. Green stands for vegetation and agriculture, yellow for gold and Guyana’s mineral resources and red for the people’s dynamism and enthusiasm for reform.

The coat of arms, awarded on June 21, 1966 by the British Queen Elizabeth II, shows the national flower Victoria Regia in the upper part of the silver shield, three blue wavy lines in the middle as a symbol for the numerous bodies of water and in the lower part the typical Canje- Pheasant for the rich bird life. The upper coat of arms is a spangenhelm with a blue-silver helmet bulge, which represents the Indian crown of a cacik’s feathers, flanked by two diamonds. Two jaguars serve as shield holders, one of which also holds a sugar cane stalk, the other a pickaxe. The motto in the banner is “One People, one Nation, one Destiny” (one people, one nation, one destiny).

The national holiday is February 23. It commemorates the proclamation of the “Cooperative Republic” in 1970. On May 26, the 1966 declaration of independence is celebrated.


Among the parties that are often united in alliances, the v. a. People’s Progressive Party (PPP; founded in 1950, affiliated with the Civic Movement, PPP / C since 1991), the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR, founded in 1957 as the People’s National Congress, PNC), which is primarily based on Supports voters of African descent, as well as the multi-ethnic Alliance for Change (AFC, founded in 2005).


The Trades Union Congress (TUC; founded in 1940) is an umbrella organization with 13 individual trade unions. In 1988, the Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Guyana (FITUG) split off from this and has now become the largest association in Guyana. Check thedressexplorer to see South America Trade Unions.


The total strength of the professional army (army, navy and air force) is 1,100, the paramilitary forces (people’s militia) 1,500.


Guyana is divided into 10 regions, which have self-governing bodies in the form of elected regional councils.