GRE Test Centers in Bhutan

By | August 27, 2019

GRE Testing Locations

Decided to take GRE exam? Now it is time to determine where to take the test.  This site provides a full list of GRE testing centers in Bhutan, among which, you can choose one that is nearest to you. Good news is that the following GRE test locations in Bhutan offer both GRE general test and the GRE subject tests.

GRE Test Centers in Bhutan

Paper-delivered Test Centers for General Test

Code Name
10071 Thimphu, Royal Cival Service Comm


GRE Test Dates

There are two types of test format offered by the test maker – ETS: Computer-delivered and Paper-delivered GRE general tests.  For computer based test format, the GRE General Test is offered year-round on a continuous basis, and available for registration on a first-come, first-served basis. For paper based general test,  testing is available three times per year. The following test dates apply:

Test Dates for Paper Based Deadlines for Registration Scores Available
November 09, 2019 October 4, 2019 December 20, 2019
February 1, 2020 December 27, 2019 March 13, 2020

GRE Subject Tests in Bhutan

The GRE Subject Tests are available on paper based only. In all GRE test centers throughout the world (both inside and outside United States), the exam is available three times a year. The three test dates are:

  • April
  • September
  • October

GRE Testing Locations in Bhutan

More about Bhutan

  • ALLCOUNTRYLIST: Overview of major industries in Bhutan, including mining, construction, transportation, tourism, and foreign trade.


According to the constitution of July 18, 2008, Bhutan is a constitutional monarchy. The head of state and commander in chief of the army is the king (Druk Gyalpo). If the constitution is violated, the monarch can be removed from office by parliament and by referendum. The king must resign when he reaches the age of 65 at the latest. He appoints the prime minister and, on his suggestion, the other cabinet members. The bicameral parliament consists of the national assembly (lower house) with a maximum of 55 members and the national council (lower house) with 25 members, of which 20 are elected in the districts and five are appointed by the king. Both chambers have a five-year legislative period.

National symbols

The national flag is divided diagonally from the lower corner on the leech to the upper corner of the flying end yellow over red. On the dividing line lies a dragon with the “egg of learning and wisdom” in one front paw and a shell in the other. The yellow color of the flag stands for the authority of the king who directs secular and religious affairs, the red for the predominant Tibetan Buddhism.

The coat of arms from 1980 shows within four corner frame grids, which represent the four geographical regions, Dumsankha, Taksekha, Dalikha and Pasankha (from the 1st half of the 17th century), in the center the wheel »Khorlo«, one of the eight Lucky symbols of Buddhism (symbol of the power of the king); above a parasol (Buddhist symbol of luck, which stands for the spiritual protection of the people of Bhutan), below a lotus flower, on each side a male and a female dragon as protector of the wheel.

The national holiday on December 17th commemorates the introduction of the monarchy in 1907.


Political parties were banned until 2007. The most important parties today are the royalist grouping Party for Peace and Prosperity (Druk Phuensum Tshogpa, DPT) and the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).


Trade unions and professional associations are unknown in Bhutan. Check thedressexplorer to see Southeastern Asia Trade Unions.


The total strength of the Bhutanese army is about 6,000 men. The force, equipped with light weapons and some light liaison and transport aircraft, is divided into three infantry battalions and other independent combat support units. Paramilitary forces: 2,500 Gendarmerie men.

India, which essentially takes on the country’s military protection, maintains a military mission with military advisors for training purposes.


Bhutan is divided into 20 districts (Dzongkhags), the majority of which are named after their capitals.


Civil and criminal law are based on Indian law and common law principles. Religious law of Buddhist tradition also plays a role. According to the constitution, there is the Supreme Court, established in 2009, as the highest appellate instance, the High Court of Justice, and subordinate district and sub-district courts. Less serious civil law cases can be decided by community leaders (Gups).


Until the establishment of a modern educational system in the 1960s, monasteries were the only educational institutions. The current education system is divided into a one-year pre-school, six years of primary school, and two years of lower, middle and higher secondary school. There is general compulsory schooling from the age of 6, but this is not always met. Attending school is free. The language of instruction is English, Dzongkha is a compulsory subject. In 2003, the first national university (Royal University of Bhutan) was founded by merging several training and research institutions.


The »Kuensel«, which was founded in 1965 as a government newsletter, was the only press organ for a long time and is now a weekly newspaper, mostly state-owned (Dzongkha and English). The number of weekly papers has increased to around a dozen since 2006. The »Bhutan Broadcasting Service« (BBS) broadcasts radio in three national languages ​​and English and, since 1999, television (two programs since 2012). Foreign channels, especially from India, are broadcast over the cable network. There are also several private radio stations.