Dental Schools in South Carolina

By | April 19, 2019

Want to become a dentist, dental assistant, dental hygienist, dental nurse, dental technician, or dental therapist?  The following schools of dentistry in South Carolina offer pre-dental studies, general dentistry, dental assisting, and dental hygiene studies towards a bachelor’s , master’s, doctorate, or a professional degree. Please know that some South Carolina dental schools also provide certificates or postgraduate training in general dentistry. Check the following table for street address and official website of each school of dental medicine in the state of South Carolina.

  • AllCityCodes: Articles about the state of South Carolina, including nickname, area codes, and interstate highways of South Carolina.
  • CityPopulationReview: Facts, symbols and history about the state of South Carolina, including different types of highways of South Carolina.
List of Dentistry Colleges in South Carolina
Medical University of South Carolina College of Dental Medicine
Address: 171 Ashley Avenue, Charleston, SC 29403

Dental Schools in South Carolina

South Carolina Brief History

The first Europeans on the territory of modern South Carolina were the Spaniards, who explored the coast of the region in the twenties of the 16th century. In 1526, the Spanish colony of San Miguel de Guadalupe was founded in the area of ​​modern Georgetown, which is considered the first European settlement in the continental United States. (Though it lasted only a few months). In 1540, the expedition of the famous conquistador Hernando de Soto passed through South Carolina. In 1562, the French, led by Jean Ribot, built a small fortified village of Charlesfort (Charlfort) on Parris Island, but it, like the Spanish colony, did not last long (about a year). Four years later, in 1566, the Spanish settlement of Santa Elena was built on the same site, which until 1587 was the “capital” of the Spanish colonies in the southeast of the modern United States.

In 1663, King Charles II of England authorized the creation of a new colony south of Virginia (named “Carolina” after his father, Charles I) to eight of his nobles, who became known as the “Lords Proprietors”. In 1670, English colonists, under the leadership of the first governor of Carolina, William Sale, founded a settlement that has grown today into the largest city of South Carolina, Charleston. The colony grew rapidly, but due to geographical features (primarily due to the lack of convenient deep-sea harbors), the northern regions remained in economic development. This led to the fact that soon they began to distinguish between North and South Carolina, and in 1712 Carolina was actually divided into two parts.

In 1715, a war between settlers and Indians broke out in the colony, known as the Yamasee War. It killed thousands of people, it ended only two years later and went down in US history as one of the bloodiest conflicts between Europeans and Indians. In 1729, the British government bought their rights from the heirs of the Lords Proprietors and the province became a royal colony. In the thirties of the XVIII century, the colony of Georgia was created, which became a “buffer” between South Carolina and then still Spanish Florida. The province became safer, its population grew, and the economy developed rapidly. By the middle of the 18th century, Charleston had become the largest and richest city in the region and one of the most important ports in the North American colonies.

In the sixties of the XVIII century in South Carolina, as in other colonies, dissatisfaction with the policy of the British metropolis gradually grew. Delegates from the province participated in the work of the Continental Congress, it was here that one of the first (albeit unofficial) US flags, the “Gadsden Flag”, was invented. In 1775, after the royal governor dissolved the colonial assembly, the patriots set up a provisional government in the state. At the same time, a significant portion of the population of South Carolina remained loyal to the British crown, it was on their support that the strategy of the British army during the American Revolutionary War was largely based. During the American Revolution, more battles took place in South Carolina than in any other US state; only in 1782 did the British leave the Palm State after a series of defeats. On May 23, 1788, South Carolina ratified the Constitution of the United States of America, thus becoming the eighth state of the United States.