Dental Schools in Kentucky

By | April 19, 2019

Want to become a dentist, dental assistant, dental hygienist, dental nurse, dental technician, or dental therapist?  The following schools of dentistry in Kentucky offer pre-dental studies, general dentistry, dental assisting, and dental hygiene studies towards a bachelor’s , master’s, doctorate, or a professional degree. Please know that some Kentucky dental schools also provide certificates or postgraduate training in general dentistry. Check the following table for street address and official website of each school of dental medicine in the state of Kentucky.

  • AllCityCodes: Articles about the state of Kentucky, including nickname, area codes, and interstate highways of Kentucky.
  • CityPopulationReview: Facts, symbols and history about the state of Kentucky, including different types of highways of Kentucky.
List of Dentistry Colleges in Kentucky
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
Address: 800 Rose St., Chandler Medical Center, Lexington, KY 40536-0297
University of Louisville School of Dentistry
Address: University of Louisville, Louisville, KY 40292

University of Kentucky College of Dentistry

Kentucky State Overview

Apparently the first Europeans to visit the lands of modern Kentucky were the French Jacques Marquette and Louis Jollier, who traveled in 1673 along the Mississippi River. In 1681-1682 another Frenchman, the famous René de La Salle, sailed down the Mississippi from the Great Lakes to the Gulf of Mexico. For the English colonists who lived on the east coast, the lands located west of the Appalachians were difficult to access and of little interest, therefore, in the late 17th and early 18th centuries, only isolated attempts were made to establish trade with the Indians living in the region.

The origin of the name of the state of Kentucky is not known for certain, only that it was borrowed from the native residents of America. Possible variants of the meaning of this word in the languages ​​of various Indian peoples: “land of tomorrow”, “at the source of the river” or “land of meadows”.

The first organized expedition to explore beyond the Appalachians was sent out from the Virginia colony led by Thomas Walker in 1750. In 1751-1752, the famous pioneer Christopher Gist explored the Ohio River Valley. After the end of the French and Indian War of 1754-1763, the French ceased to claim the region and exploration of the lands of Kentucky continued. In 1774, the first European settlement in Kentucky was founded – Harrodstown (modern city of Harrodsburg).

In the decades that followed, the number of settlers from Virginia, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania to the undeveloped lands of Kentucky steadily increased. One of the most famous Kentucky pioneers of this period was Daniel Boone, who became a legend in American folklore. In 1775, North Carolina lawyer and entrepreneur Richard Henderson attempted to establish a new colony in Kentucky (and neighboring Tennessee), “Transylvania”. He approached the Continental Congress in an attempt to give the colony official status, but his request was denied. In the summer of 1776, the Virginia General Assembly (namely the colony of Virginia formally controlled the territory of Kentucky at the time) forbade Transylvania from further attempts at self-organization. In December of the same year, 1776, the District of Kentucky was created as part of Virginia .

Remoteness from the central authorities of Virginia, the unwillingness of its legislators to allow the Kentuckians to trade with the Spaniards in the colony of Louisiana, the need for self-organization and quick response to successfully resist Indian attacks – all these factors contributed to the growth in the number of supporters of independence. In 1784, the first Constitutional Convention met in Kentucky, and over the course of several years the Constitution of the future new state was being developed. On June 1, 1792, the United States Congress recognized Kentucky as the fifteenth state of the United States.

Now, about 620,000 people live in Kentucky’s largest city, Louisville (and about 1,270,000 people in the urban agglomeration that has formed around it). The capital of the Bluegrass State, Frankfort, has about 28,000 residents.

Kentucky’s main economic sectors are industry, mining, agriculture, and tourism. The state has well-developed food, light and chemical industries, mechanical engineering (including the automotive industry). A uranium enrichment plant for nuclear power plants operates near the town of Padaka. Coal mining, once a major source of income for Kentucky, has gradually lost its importance, but nonetheless continues in significant volumes. The fields of the Bluegrass State grow corn, soybeans, tobacco; farms raise cattle and pigs. The Bluegrass region is well suited for horse breeding and is famous for its thoroughbred horses. Kentucky is the birthplace of bourbon, a traditional American whiskey and one of the symbols of the United States. Bourbon production has traditionally been an important part of the state’s economy. Numerous natural attractions (including Mammoth Cave), as well as traditional sports and recreational events (like the Kentucky Derby or bourbon festivals) attract numerous tourists to the state.