Dental Schools in Georgia

By | April 19, 2019

Want to become a dentist, dental assistant, dental hygienist, dental nurse, dental technician, or dental therapist?  The following schools of dentistry in Georgia offer pre-dental studies, general dentistry, dental assisting, and dental hygiene studies towards a bachelor’s , master’s, doctorate, or a professional degree. Please know that some Georgia dental schools also provide certificates or postgraduate training in general dentistry. Check the following table for street address and official website of each school of dental medicine in the state of Georgia.

  • AllCityCodes: Articles about the state of Georgia, including nickname, area codes, and interstate highways of Georgia.
  • CityPopulationReview: Facts, symbols and history about the state of Georgia, including different types of highways of Georgia.
List of Dentistry Colleges in Georgia
Georgia Health Sciences University College of Dental Medicine
Address: 1120 15th Street, Augusta, GA 30912

Georgia Health Sciences University College of Dental Medicine

Georgia Overview

The state of Georgia is located in the South of the United States and belongs to the South Atlantic states. Georgia borders the states of Tennessee and North Carolina to the north, South Carolina to the northeast, Florida to the south, and Alabama to the west.

Georgia is located within two United States physiographic regions. The north of the state is part of the Appalachian mountain system: the Blue Ridge Mountains (“Blue Ridge”) in the northeast and the Ridge and Valley region (“Ridges and Valleys”) in the northwest. To the south, the mountains gradually pass into the Piedmont Plateau, and further south into the plains of the US Atlantic Lowland (Georgia’s largest region).

Georgia has a humid subtropical climate with long, hot summers and short, warm winters. The climate of the state is strongly influenced by the proximity of the ocean and the relief; unlike the mountainous regions, there is practically no snow on the coast in winter. Georgia, like other states on the Atlantic coast, is hit by the elements from time to time: tropical storms and hurricanes.

Presumably, the first European explorer to see the lands of Georgia was the Spanish conquistador Juan Ponce de Leon in 1513. In 1526, the Spanish established a settlement on an island off the coast of Georgia, but it lasted only a few months. In 1539-42, an expedition led by the famous Spanish pioneer Hernando de Soto passed through the territory of Georgia (as well as Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, Alabama and Mississippi ). During the 17th century, the territory of Georgia was only periodically visited by explorers from Spanish Florida, English fur traders from the province of Carolina first came here in 1690, establishing the trading post of Fort Ocmulgee.

At the end of the 17th and the first half of the 18th centuries, both the Spaniards from Florida and the British from South Carolina claimed the lands of modern Georgia, which led to numerous conflicts. In 1730, British MP James Oglethorpe proposed the creation of another colony in North America, which could serve as a kind of “buffer zone” between the possessions of Great Britain and Spain. In 1732, King George II signed a charter to create a new colony, which was named “Georgia” in his honor and became the last of the thirteen British colonies in North America. In February 1733, the first batch of settlers arrived in Georgia, led by James Oglethorpe.

In 1742, during the ” War of Jenkins ‘ Ear”, Georgia was attacked (and partially captured) by the Spanish, but the militia, led by Oglethorpe, managed to defeat the attackers and force them to retreat. After the end of the war in 1748, Spain finally recognized British rights to the lands of Georgia.

A unique distinction of Georgia was the ban on the use of African slaves, adopted in 1735 by the trustees of the colony, but already in 1749, under pressure from planters who did not want to give up the source of free labor, it was canceled.

Georgia in the 1860s had both prosperous royalty and “no tax without representation” patriots in Georgia. As a result of such disagreements, Georgia was the only one of the thirteen colonies that did not send representatives to the first Continental Congress in 1774. Also in 1775, due to controversy, Georgia was not fully represented at the second Continental Congress. Nevertheless, already in the spring, after reports of the Battle of Lexington and Concord in Massachusetts, the number of supporters of independence in Georgia increased dramatically. In May 1775, a group of Patriots took over the Savannah armory; in July, Georgia finally sent its delegates to the Continental Congress. In fact, the royal governor lost real power in the colony.

In March 1776, British warships seized several rice-laden merchant ships in the port of Savannah, then sailed for Boston with the former governor of Georgia on board. Soon the Georgia Congress passed a document known as “Rules and Regulations”, which is actually the first State Constitution. On July 4, 1776, the delegates from Georgia, among other representatives of the thirteen colonies, signed the Declaration of Independence of the United States of America.