Best Medical Schools in Georgia

By | April 29, 2018

Welcome to Georgia best medical schools. Our rankings are based on alumni reviews, research scores received, peer institution assessment and admissions statistics including averaged MCAT scores, undergraduate GPA as well as acceptance rates. Below we list top medical schools in Georgia that are top ranked nationally. You can find tuition cost, total enrollment and composite MCAT score for each school.

  • TIMEDICTIONARY: Overview of major cities and towns in Georgia. Includes history, population and geographical map of Georgia.

Best Medical Schools in Georgia

National Ranking Best Medical Programs
22 Emory University (Atlanta, GA)
Acceptance rate: 6.6%
MCAT composite score: 11.3
Tuition: Full-time: $45,000
Average undergraduate GPA: 3.67
Total medical school enrollment: 531
Full-time faculty-student ratio: 4.1:1
NIH funds granted to medical school and affiliated hospitals (in millions): $270.2Emory University Medical School
69 Georgia Health Sciences University (Augusta, GA)
Acceptance rate: 16.2%
MCAT composite score: 10.0
Tuition: Full-time: $24,726 (in-state), Full-time: $44,754 (out-of-state)
Average undergraduate GPA: 3.70
Total medical school enrollment: 852
Full-time faculty-student ratio: 0.7:1
NIH funds granted to medical school and affiliated hospitals (in millions): $58.4

Georgia Health Sciences University

97 Mercer University (Macon, GA)
Acceptance rate: 16.5%
MCAT composite score: 9.1
Tuition: Full-time: $41,457
Average undergraduate GPA: 3.50
Total medical school enrollment: 387
Full-time faculty-student ratio: 0.8:1
NIH funds granted to medical school and affiliated hospitals (in millions): $1.1

Mercer University Medical School

99 Morehouse School of Medicine (Atlanta, GA)
Acceptance rate: N/A
MCAT composite score: N/A
Tuition: Full-time: $34,457
Average undergraduate GPA: N/A
Total medical school enrollment: 337
Full-time faculty-student ratio: 0.7:1
NIH funds granted to medical school and affiliated hospitals (in millions): $23.9

Morehouse School of Medicine

History of the State of Georgia

Although slavery had been prohibited in Georgia since the creation of Georgia, the prosperity of the plantations of neighboring Carolina, based on the use of the labor of black slaves, and the decrease in the number of immigrants from Europe led to the abolition of this ban by 1749. The number of African slaves increased rapidly, large plantations appeared in Georgia, the main crop on which was rice, and later sugarcane and cotton.

In 1752, Georgia received the status of “royal colony”, which was led by a governor appointed by the king. During the years of the “war with the French and Indians” in 1754-1763, Georgia, located far from the disputed territories, did not take place any hostilities, although there was a threat of an invasion by the Spaniards from the south.

During the American Revolution , the population of Georgia was divided: part of the residents of the colony supported the royal power (loyalists), which ensured the prosperity of the economy and protection from the Indians, and part adhered to the principle of “no taxes without representation”, thus being supporters of independence. Georgia was the only one of Britain’s thirteen North American colonies that did not send representatives to the first Continental Congress in 1774. In January 1775, delegates to the second Continental Congress were elected, but due to disagreements they never went to Philadelphia, and at first only the famous priest and statesman Lyman Hall participated in the work of the Congress, representing not even Georgia as a whole, but only one from her parishes. But already in April, after In Massachusetts, the first armed clashes between the army of the metropolis and the revolutionaries took place, the number of independence fighters in Georgia increased. On May 11, 1775, a group of “Sons of Liberty” seized an armory in Savannah, sharing gunpowder with rebels from the Carolinas. In July 1775, Georgia finally sent its delegates to the Continental Congress. In fact, from that moment on, the colony was controlled by the “Committee of Security” created by the revolutionaries, although formally the power remained with the royal governor James Wright.

In January 1776, the port of Savannah was attacked by ships of the British fleet. The British captured several ships loaded with rice (which is why this battle went down in history as the “Battle of the Rice Boats”), several more were burned. After the exchange of prisoners, along with the departed royal ships, Governor Wright also fled.

In April 1776, the Georgia Congress passed a document known as the Rules and Regulations, which is in fact the first State Constitution and defines the system of government in it. On July 4, 1776, three delegates from Georgia (including Lyman Hall) signed the Declaration of Independence of the United States of America.

In December 1778, British troops landed in Georgia and, with the support of loyalists, captured several of its districts, including Savannah. In July 1779, James Wright, who had fled from it three years earlier, returned to Georgia, the governor announced the return of the rebellious colony under the rule of the British crown (thus Georgia became the only state over which Great Britain managed to regain control during the American War of Independence).

In September 1779, Savannah was attacked by the combined forces of the Patriots under the leadership of General Benjamin Lincoln and the French who supported the American Revolution. More than six thousand people fought on the side of the allies (with the support of artillery of twenty-five ships), and the British had only about three and a half thousand soldiers, but thanks to a competent defense and due to the miscalculations of the French admiral Charles d’Estaing, the British defeated the attackers. During the siege of Savannah, the famous general of the continental army, the “father of the American cavalry” Casimir Puławski, also died. The British left Savannah (and Georgia) only in 1782, after the end of the war.

On January 2, 1788, Georgia ratified the Constitution of the United States of America, thus becoming the fourth state of the United States.