Angola Basic Information

By | July 21, 2022

Basic information about the territory

Angola Basic Information


  • System of governance and political tendencies in the country
  • Foreign policy of the country
  • Population

The system of governance and political tendencies in the country

Angola is a presidential republic that has a stable political system. The main political party is the MPLA, which has been the leading party since the end of the civil war in 2002. The opposition parties are not very strong and organized and include Unita, CASA-CE and PRS. General elections will be held in Angola in August 2022, and according to preliminary estimates, the MPLA will retain its position as the ruling party. Check cancermatters to learn more about Angola political system.

Head of State: President João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço (since 26 September 2017), the President is also Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces and Chairman of the MPLA.
Vice President: Bornito de Sousa Baltazar Diogo
Minister of State for Economic Coordination: Manuel José Nunes Júnior
Minister of State for Social Affairs: Carolina Cerqueira
Minister of State and Head of the Security Office of the President of the Republic: Pedro Sebastião
Minister of State and Head of the Civil Office of the President of the Republic: Adão Francisco Correia de Almeida

There are a total of 21 ministries in Angola and their list including the names of the ministers is as follows:

Ministry of Foreign Relations (Ministerio das Relações Exteriores)
Minister: Téte António

Ministry of Finance (Ministério das Finanças)
Minister: Vera Esperança Dos Santos Daves De Sousa

Ministry of the Interior (Ministério do Interior)
Minister: Eugénio César Laborinho

Ministry of Justice and Human Rights (Ministério da Justiça e Direitos Humanos)
Minister: Francisco Manuel Monteiro de Queiroz

Ministry of National Defense and Veterans (Ministério da Defesa Nacional e Veterano da Pátria)
Minister: João Ernesto dos Santos

Ministry of Industry and Trade (Ministério da Indústria e Comércio)
Minister: Victor Francisco dos Santos Fernandes

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries (Ministério da Agricultura e Pescas)
Minister: António Francisco de Assis

Ministry of Energy and Water (Ministério da Energia e Águas)
Minister: João Baptista Borges

Ministry of Mineral Resources, Oil and Gas (Ministério de Recursos Minerais, Petróleo e Gás)
Minister: Diamantino Pedro Azevedo

Ministry of Transport (Ministério dos Transportes)
Minister: Ricardo Daniel Sandão Queirós Veigas de Abreu

Ministry of Public Works and Spatial Planning (Ministério das Obras Públicas e Ordenamento do Território)
Minister: Manuel Tavares de Almeida

Ministry of Economy and Planning (Ministério da Economia e Planeamento)
Minister: Mário Augusto Caetano João

Ministry of Youth and Sports (Ministério da Juventude e Desportos)
Minister: Ana Paula Sacramento Neto

Ministry of Health (Ministério da Saúde)
Minister: Sílvia Paula Valentim Lutucuta

Ministry of Territorial Administration (Ministério da Administração do Território)
Minister: Marcy Cláudio Lopes

Ministry of Public Administration, Labor and Social Security (Ministério da Administração Pública, Trabalho e Segurança Social)
Minister: Teresa Rodrigues Dias

Ministry of Culture, Tourism and the Environment (Ministério da Cultura, Turismo e Ambiente)
Minister: Filipe de Pina Zau

Ministry of Education (Ministério da Educação)
Minister: Luísa Maria Alves Grilo

Ministry of Social Affairs, Family and Women’s Affairs (Ministério da Acção Social, Família e Promoção da Mulher)
Minister: Faustina Fernandes Ingles de Almeida Alves Mi

Ministry of Telecommunications, Information Technology and Social Communication (Ministério das Telecomunicações, Tecnologias de Informação e Comunicação Social)
Minister: Manuel Gomes da Conceição Homem

Ministry of Higher Education, Science, Technology and Innovation (Ministério Ensino Superior, Ciência, Tecnologia e Inovação)
Minister: Maria do Rosário Teixeira de Alva Sequeira Bragança Sambo

Foreign policy of the country

Angola is a signatory to the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), which aims to reduce tariffs and boost trade across the continent. The AfCFTA entered into force on 1 January 2021 (delayed from July 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic). Check prozipcodes for Angola defense and foreign policy.

One of Angola’s main trading partners and biggest creditor is China. It is estimated that more than 40% of Angola’s public debt belongs to China, and most of the debt is secured by oil assets. Angola is also trying to deepen relations with the EU and offer its energy resources as an alternative to Russia’s. In March 2022, the EU-Angola Business Forum took place in Brussels and the EU pledged USD 67 million to build resilience against the effects of the coronavirus. Angola’s ruling MPLA party has historically had strong ties with Russia, which (like the USSR) supported it during the civil war. Angola thus abstained from the UN vote on the condemnation of the war in Ukraine.

In the 2018-2021 period, Angola had an agreement with the IMF under the so-called Extended Fund Facilitation to achieve sustainability of public finances and debt, to make governance more efficient and to support the diversification of the economy and private business. In addition, in 2020 the IMF decided to provide financial resources to address the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. No further support from the IMF is expected in the near future.


Angola has a total population of 31.13 million (2020 estimate), a population density of 24.97 inhabitants per km2, and an average annual population increase of 2.2%. A large proportion of the population lives in cities.

The capital is Luanda (million inhabitants) and other important cities are: Lubango (1.01 million inhabitants), Huambo (0.9 million inhabitants), Lobito (0.73 million inhabitants), Benguela (0.47 million inhabitants).

National composition : Bantu tribes and nationalities, the most numerous of which are Ovimbundu (approx. 37% of the population) and Kimbundu (approx. 25%), then Bakongo (approx. 13%), Chokwe, Lunda, Ganguela, Nhaneca-Humbe, Ambo, Herero, Xindunga, half-breeds (approx. 2%) and whites, mainly Portuguese (1%).

Religion: Christianity (80%): more than half of them are Catholics, other Angolan Christians adhere to one of the Protestant denominations; traditional animists (2%): in “pure” form only marginally and more in rural areas; Islam (1%)

Angola has a high poverty rate, averaging 40.6%.

Official language: Portuguese